Unisa NQF Levels

By |

Unisa NQF Levels

Unisa NQF Levels: NQF level 6

Credits are usually the number of notional study hours needed for acquiring the learning outcomes. Notional hours consist of study time, assignments and examinations. The Unisa credit rating system rates 10 notional hours as equal to one credit.

For instance: A Higher Certificate has 120 credits which consist of a 10 x 12 credit module. A module which is made up of 12 credits equates to 120 notional hours. It is consequently requires at least 8 hours of study per week in a 15-week semester.

Qualifications needs a certain number of credits, which is broken down into simple units. Undergraduate modules are usually 12 credits at Unisa. All module is pegged in accordance with a specific NQF level. A bachelor’s degree of 360 credits, for instance, is made up of 30 modules of 12 credits each.

A bachelor’s degree can consist of of the following

  • between 8 and 10 modules of 12 credits in each at NQF level 5
  • between 10 and 12 modules of 12 credits in each at NQF level 6
  • 10 modules of 12 credits in each at NQF level 7

All these levels proceed ahead on from one another. When selecting a module, you have to first of all pass the module at the lower level. In other to be awarded a qualification, you should have finished the needed number of credits. The modules can be completed at the needed NQF level.

You can plan your curriculum using the detailed information on the registration website.

Below is the Breakdown of Unisa NQF Levels

New NQF level Vocational Professional General
10 Doctoral degree Doctoral degree
9 Master’s degree Master’s degree
8 Postgraduate diploma Postgraduate diploma
Bachelor degree
Honours degree
Bachelor degree
7 Advanced diploma Bachelor degree
Advanced diploma
Bachelor degree
6 Diploma (240 credits and 360 credits) Diploma (360 credits)
6 Advanced certificate (120 credits)
5 Higher certificate (120 credits)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *